The Sri Lanka Golf Union (SLGU) is the Governing Body for Golf in Sri Lanka.

Golf in Sri Lanka is a sport steeped in tradition. Golf has been formally played in Sri Lanka for over130 years, and the island is home to the second oldest Amateur Championship in the world. Royal Colombo Golf Club is the second oldest Royal Golf Club in the world outside Britain, and is over 130 years old. The Nuwara Eliya Golf Club which is situated in the hill country is over 120 years old. The Victoria Golf and Country Resort (VGCR) is much younger; built in 1999, VGCR was placed 85th among the most beautiful golf courses in the world. The newest Member is Eagles Golf Links in China Bay, Trincomale owned by the Sri Lanka Air Force.

Sri Lanka Golf Union was founded in 1946. The SLGU now spearheads the movement to advance golf in the island. It is also responsible for organizing the Sri Lanka Amateur Championship which was begun in 1891, and The Sri Lanka Open.


Birth Place of Golf 1879 In Colombo Golf club.

Sri Lanka Golf Union – Council (2012 / 2013)

  • President – Ana Punchihewa
  • Vice President – Lal Dias
  • Hony. Secretary – Dilhan Abhayaratne
  • Hony. Treasurer – Glen Mathew
  • Immediate Past President – Tony Whitham

Council Members 

Royal Colombo Golf Club Victoria Golf Club Nuwara Eliya Golf Club
Priya Fernando
Nimal Piyarathne
Ken De Alwis
Michael M. Perera
Niloo Jayatilaka
Ranil Pieris
GV Tissera
Maj.Gen.Srinath Rajapakse
Nihal Keppetipola

Eagles Golf Links

AVM Kapila Jayampathy
Grp.Cat. Prasanna Ranasinghe
Administrative Executive – Shifath Ahamed

Website Editor

Hùng Nguyễn

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *